Bank of Nova Scotia / ScotiaBank Complaints / Problems: Resolve Quickly and Efficiently



ScotiaBank Problem Background

I have a Scotia "PowerChequing" Account that I don't really use as a part of my Scotia line of credit account package. It was supposed to be free during school, and for one year after I graduate.

One month, they decided to deduct the monthly account fee, for no good reason. Just for one month only. Since I don't really use the account, I barely keep a penny in it, so this knocked me into getting a monthly overdraft charge right away.

And since I almost never use the account, I didn't find out for several months that I was in overdraft (I don't get monthly statements, nor do I bother to check it online), and getting charged monthly for being in the negatives.

When I did find out, and went to the branch, they were able to determine what happened and when, and asked I talk to the professional account people that set it all up. They also mentioned that I should have gotten a deliquency notice after 60 days, but they didn't have any record of that being issued (and I never received it). So of course, I documented who told this to me, and raised it during my emails: Why didn't I receive this notice?

ScotiaBank Complaint Process

My email to my account manager went unreplied after a few weeks, and phone calls (off business hours) to the branch that handled the account actually disconnected when transferring to a mailbox.

So I emailed the "Office of the President", explained myself, and got a phone call from them in two days. I wasn't able to answer the call, but they left a message asking me to call back. After I didn't reply, they called again and left another message saying there was a "glitch", and they reversed all of the overdraft and interest fees. Personally, I really dislike back-and-forth, the email had all of the details they needed, I would have preferred they just replied with their decision, but maybe that's just their protocol.

So if you're a busy person, just wait for them to call back again with their conclusion.

The advantage of email is that you never have to repeat yourself. I was able to send the same set of details to the Office of the President that I sent to the account manager. If I had to escalate it to the Ombudsman, I'd send the same details again. It also gives me a documented record of what I said and when, so they can't say they never received it or misconstrue what I said.

ScotiaBank Complaints: Lessons Learned (or Confirmed):

  • Have an informal chat with a teller to get relevant details and ask them to fix it right there if you can
  • Email, email, email, especially if you know you're 100% in the right (sometimes you might not want to have things so well documented, use your judgement).
  • Go up the chain of command: see if the teller can fix it, then their manager (and/or your account manager), then the Office of the President, then the Scotia Ombudsman, then the OBSI Ombudsman then ???
  • Remember, don't go up the chain unless they either ignore you or rule against you. For example, once you contact the ombudsman, your file with the Office of the President is essentially shut, which could work against you if the Office of the President was going to rule in your favour, but the Ombudsman rules against you.
  • If this is a small matter (mine was around $50) go the route I'm suggesting above. They'll likely reverse anything remotely small. If it's big (especially if it's something that may have to get settled in court), get proper advice first.
  • If you plan on cancelling your account, get them to reverse whatever is needed or credit you, and cancel your account on another visit. At least give the image that their reversal of fees allowed them to maintain your account.

WESTERN UNION PAYMENT INFORMATION'S

Do you need a Loan?
Are you looking for Finance?
Are you looking for a Loan to enlarge your business?
I think you have come to the right place.
We offer Loans atlow interest rate.
Interested people should please contact us on
For immediate response to your application, Kindly
reply to this emails below only.
(gregloanoffer@gmail.com)

Please, do provide us with the Following information if interested.
1) Full Name:.........
2) Gender:.........
3) Loan Amount Needed:.........
4) Loan Duration:.........
5) Country:.........
6) Home Address:.........
7) Mobile Number:.........
8)Monthly Income:.....................
9)Occupation:...........................
)Which site did you here about us.....................
Thanks and Best Regards.
(gregloanoffer@gmail.com)

www.(gregloanoffer@gmail.com)

UNITED CAPITAL PUBLIC LOAN OFFER

HOW MUCH LOAN DO YOU NEED?
APPLY NOW
Do you need a loan to start a business we are here to help you
We offer loan at a very low percent rate of 3%
Contact us today for your loan
Email: unitedcapital10@gmail.com

scotia must fall

Scotia bank suck big time they lie cheat I had a mortgage at scotia that was due to renew for 5 year I started to renew my mortgage but count get answers or even meet the loan officer,so I started to see other banks I went to a TD bank and was receive like a family member dint have to take an appointment they gave me the best rate they could and more.
Then finally I was able to get an appointment with scotia a their convenience and had to take a day off work to see them after talking to them I was not happy I was treated like a piece of shit by the loan officer so I decided to meet with the bank manager and was told to take an appointment I told them that my mortgage was getting due and I had to decide what I was gonna do I was told that since I started the negotiation that I had plenty of time to do so .I met the bank manager and was able to get the same rate that TD bank was giving me and assure me that at this time if I wanted to go with TD bank I could do so with no penalty being that we were still negotiating before leaving I ask her if I need more information if I could just drop by so we could get thing on track,she said there was no problem that she would see me on a drop in basis as you guest it I had more question for her and did drop in on her 2 time after the second time she call me on my cell phone to let me know that my drop-in on her was very disruptive for her.after that phone call from her I decided to go with TD bank .so I did all the paperwork with TD bank to take over the mortgage when my lawyer sent the paper work the told him that they would be penalty’s to pay if I move my mortgage now my mortgage was 1.8% at the time they lock me in for 6 months at 4.25% Imagine that lol
on top of that when the close my mortgage they also close my personal credit line and put me under and charge me 45.00 plus 11% interest on my overdraft of 300.00 lol now I’m trying to close my accounts but guest what I need an appointment lol.I will never ever deal with Soitia bank and I will for the rest of my life tell everybody I know to get out of scotia when I pass in front of scotia bank I always spit on their widow lol if I had more guts I would piss and shit in there outside deposit box lol

Have you seen this? Broken

Have you seen this?

Broken Trust.

Two faces of Justice.

http://projects.thestar.com/broken-trust/

invalidity benefit

August 23rd, 2012.
My invalidity benefit money was placed in my account which is joint with another individual. It was with great disgust and shock that I got sick to my stomach when Scotiabank Trinidad and Tobago Ltd took over 70% of my invalidity insurance benefit money to pay the other individual's loan. I sent email and letters to relevant authorities about my demise, but got no response.
What is most appalling is that I am a Scotiabank retiree.
I am very disappointed . That money was urgentlyy need for medical purposes.
What can I do?
Please respond to my email adddress.
Thanks.

Release my money A.S.A.P

professional misconducts and breeches of civil procedures

Enio Zeppieri. Zeppieri ... Offences

Please contact me. If I find out in anyway you are one of them well we won't talk about it. ( Criminal law still exists ) However if your not I am looking for people who have been wronged by this bunch to start a class action lawsuit against them. There is a right time when everything catches up and now is this groups downfall. The amount of frauds, mortgage scamming , signing money over to himself from banks, suing clients for suits he never completed or truly represented other then showing up to have it held over to steal more clients money , and more is over

Please contact

Dirty Lawyers - Crooked Law Society - Deaf Dumb Blind Judges!

I am invoking my Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms for my Freedom of Speech to tell nothing but the truth, as I have always done!

Fundamental Freedoms - 2(b) freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression including freedom of the press and other media of communication.

Equality Rights - 15(1) Every individual is equal before and under the law and has the right to the equal protection and equal benefit of the law without
discrimination and, in particular, without discrimination based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability.

I have told nothing but the truth about the criminal acts, professional misconducts and breeches of civil procedures by the lawyers I have complained about but
The Law Society of Upper Canada has joined their conspiracies and will not properly investigate and come to the real conclusion that these lawyers are guilty!
I have many dozens of complaints against the lawyers (over 100 against my ex-lawyer alone) and the LSUC will not interview me with the evidences in hand!
The Law Society of Upper Canada is corrupted by protecting these lawyers from prosecution even when the evidence is overwhelmingly against the lawyers!

I am a layment (court term) who can not afford legal representation and the lawsuits (4) are too big for legal aid help, so I have been forced to defend the truth,
against the unscrupulous lawyers, alone. The lawyers know they are guilty and fighting for their careers so they filed the last 3 lawsuits to try and destroy me...
I have told nothing but the truth about the criminal acts, professional misconducts and breeches of civil procedures by the lawyers I have complained about but
for some very strange reason? the judges are not listening to the innocent victims, ignoring facts, history and evidence about the lawyers obstruction of justice!

I can not live without the truth, therefore, the unscrupulous lawyers will now have me charged with contempt to try and stop me from telling truth about all them!
So, the courts may put an innocent man in jail because I will not stop telling the truth until some lawyers are charged criminally and/or permanently disbarred!
The Courts have already destroyed me and my family by allowing the lawyers' conspiracies to continue with the lack of proper verdicts hiding truth and history!
THESE LAWYERS KNOW I HAVE THE EVIDENCE THAT WILL DESTROY ALL THEIR CAREERS AND THEY KNOW I AM TOO STUPID TO KNOW HOW TO USE IT!

Enio Zeppieri of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Gregory Gryguc of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Pearl Rombis, formerly of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Avril Hasselfield, formerly of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Lora Olsthoorn, formerly of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Theresa Hamid of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Rose Serino of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Toby Ezer of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Martin Sclisizzi of Borden, Ladner Gervais LLP
Martin Buhler, formerly of Borden, Ladner Gervais LLP
Elissa Goodman Sinha of Borden, Ladner Gervais LLP
Colleen Bell of Borden, Ladner Gervais LLP
Stephen Schwartz of Chaitons LLP
Karine De Champlain, formerly of Chaitons LLP
Jack (Giacomo) Rosati of Jack Rosati LLP
Ron Palleschi of Ron Palleschi LLP
Heidi Rubin, now with DeWart Gleason LLP
Sean DeWart, now with DeWart Gleason LLP
Harry McMurtry of Affleck Greene McMurtry LLP
Pinta Maguire of Lenczner Slaght Griffin LLP
William McDowell of Lenczner Slaght Griffin LLP
Jessica Kowalski, former Investigator of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Caroline Feeley, former Investigator of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Joanne MacMillan, Investigator of the Law Society of Upper Canada
David Cass, Investigator of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Zeynep Onen, Prosecuter of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Sharon Seenath, Complaints Resolution Manager of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Hershel Gross, Complaints Resolution Manager of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Stindar Lal, Resolution Commissioner of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Malcolm Heins, CEO of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Justice Lissaman
Justice Kimmel
Justice Day
Justice Archibald
Justice Blair
Justice Gillese
Justice Moldavor
Justice Lang
Justice Swinton
Justice Matlow
Justice Murray
Justice Borris
Justice Doherty
Justice Feldman
Justice MacFarland
Justice Pattilles
Master Graham
Master Strathy
Justice O'Marra
Justice Spence
Master Short

Dirt Lawyers Crooked Law Society Deaf Dumb Blind Judges!

I am invoking my Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms for my Freedom of Speech to tell nothing but the truth, as I have always done!

Fundamental Freedoms - 2(b) freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression including freedom of the press and other media of communication.

Equality Rights - 15(1) Every individual is equal before and under the law and has the right to the equal protection and equal benefit of the law without
discrimination and, in particular, without discrimination based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability.

I have told nothing but the truth about the criminal acts, professional misconducts and breeches of civil procedures by the lawyers I have complained about but
The Law Society of Upper Canada has joined their conspiracies and will not properly investigate and come to the real conclusion that these lawyers are guilty!
I have many dozens of complaints against the lawyers (over 100 against my ex-lawyer alone) and the LSUC will not interview me with the evidences in hand!
The Law Society of Upper Canada is corrupted by protecting these lawyers from prosecution even when the evidence is overwhelmingly against the lawyers!

I am a layment (court term) who can not afford legal representation and the lawsuits (4) are too big for legal aid help, so I have been forced to defend the truth,
against the unscrupulous lawyers, alone. The lawyers know they are guilty and fighting for their careers so they filed the last 3 lawsuits to try and destroy me...
I have told nothing but the truth about the criminal acts, professional misconducts and breeches of civil procedures by the lawyers I have complained about but
for some very strange reason? the judges are not listening to the innocent victims, ignoring facts, history and evidence about the lawyers obstruction of justice!

I can not live without the truth, therefore, the unscrupulous lawyers will now have me charged with contempt to try and stop me from telling truth about all them!
So, the courts may put an innocent man in jail because I will not stop telling the truth until some lawyers are charged criminally and/or permanently disbarred!
The Courts have already destroyed me and my family by allowing the lawyers' conspiracies to continue with the lack of proper verdicts hiding truth and history!
THESE LAWYERS KNOW I HAVE THE EVIDENCE THAT WILL DESTROY ALL THEIR CAREERS AND THEY KNOW I AM TOO STUPID TO KNOW HOW TO USE IT!

http://law-society-of-upper-canada-lsuc.blogspot.com - The Law Society of Upper Canada
http://scotiabank-bank-of-nova-scotia.blogspot.com/ - The Bank of Nova Scotia
http://equifax-canada.blogspot.com - Equifax Canada Incorporated
http://rbc-royal-bank-of-canada.blogspot.com - Royal Bank
http://cibc-canadian-imperial-bank-commerce.blogspot.com - CIBC Bank
http://td-canada-trust-bank.blogspot.com - TD Canada Trust

http://lawyer-enio-zeppieri.blogspot.com - Enio Zeppieri
http://lawyer-gregory-gryguc.blogspot.com - Gregory Gryguc
http://lawyer-pearl-rombis.blogspot.com - Pearl Rombis
http://lawyer-avril-hasselfield.blogspot.com - Avril Hasselfield
http://lawyer-lora-olsthoorn.blogspot.com - Lora Olsthoorn
http://lawfirm-employee-theresa-hamid.blogspot.com - Theresa Hamid
http://lawfirm-employee-rose-serino.blogspot.com - Rose Serino
http://lawfirm-accountant-toby-ezer.blogspot.com - Toby Ezer

http://lawyer-martin-sclisizzi.blogspot.com - Martin Sclisizzi
http://lawyer-martin-buhler.blogspot.com - Martin Buhler
http://lawyer-elissa-goodman.blogspot.com - Elissa Goodman Sinha
http://law-clerk-colleen-bell.blogspot.com - Colleen Bell

http://lawyer-stephen-schwartz.blogspot.com - Stephen Schwartz
http://lawyer-karine-dechamplain.blogspot.com - Karine De Champlain

http://lawyer-giacomo-rosati.blogspot.com - Jack (Giacomo) Rosati
http://lawyer-ron-palleschi.blogspot.com - Ron Palleschi
http://lawyer-heidi-rubin.blogspot.com - Heidi Rubin
http://lawyer-sean-dewart.blogspot.com - Sean DeWart
http://lawyer-harry-mcmurtry.blogspot.com - Harry McMurtry
http://lawyer-pinta-maguire.blogspot.com - Pinta Maguire
http://lawyer-william-mcdowell.blogspot.com - William McDowell

http://lsuc-investigator-jessica-kowalski.blogspot.com - Jessica Kowalski
http://lsuc-investigator-caroline-feeley.blogspot.com - Caroline Feeley
http://lsuc-investigator-joanne-macmillan.blogspot.com - Joanne MacMillan
http://lsuc-investigator-david-cass.blogspot.com - David Cass
http://lsuc-investigator-zeynep-onen.blogspot.com - Zeynep Onen
http://lsuc-investigator-sharon-seenath.blogspot.com - Sharon Seenath
http://lsuc-investigator-hershel-gross.blogspot.com - Hershel Gross
http://lsuc-commissioner-stindar-lal.blogspot.com - Stindar Lal
http://lsuc-ceo-malcolm-heins.blogspot.com - Malcolm Heins

http://justice-lissaman-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Lissaman
http://justice-himel-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Himel
http://justice-day-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Day
http://justice-archibald-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Archibald
http://justice-blair-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Blair
http://justice-gillese-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Gillese
http://justice-moldavor-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Moldavor
http://justice-lang-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Lang
http://justice-swinton-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Swinton
http://justice-matlow-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Matlow
http://justice-murray-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Murray
http://justice-borris-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Borris
http://justice-doherty-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Doherty
http://justice-feldman-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Feldman
http://justice-macfarland-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice MacFarland
http://justice-pattilles-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Pattilles
http://master-graham-superior-court.blogspot.com - Master Graham
http://justice-strathy-superior-court.blogspot.com - Master Strathy
http://justice-omarra-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice O'Marra
http://justice-spence-superior-court.blogspot.com - Justice Spence
http://master-short-superior-court.blogspot.com - Master Short

SCOTIABANK OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO IS THE WORST

I have dealings with Scotiabank of Trinidad and Tobago and I could tell you that its the worst bank existing. They are unprofessional and they don't know what they are doing. They treat good customers with disregard and slowly torment you to kill yourself. Looks like the staff working there are money hungry people with no sense of human relations and they talk alot of bull. I wish I could pull out from that bank but because of all the complications involved I have to stick the grind until something better could work out for me. They are a pack of idiots working there with lack of common sense and education. Instead of making situations better for customers they create havoc and distress for GOOD CUSTOMERS. This bank is really a f................ up bank. NEW MANAGEMENT IS NEEDED.

How do I remove a topic and/or comment of this blog?

How do I remove a topic and/or comment of this blog?

There's a contact link in the

There's a contact link in the "Advertising Opportunities" page at the very bottom. Try that.

Scotiabank is a VERY CROOKED BANK with VERY CROOKED LAWYERS!

We, RNC and RBC, of ## XXXXXX Crescent, XXXX, Ontario, XXX XXX have stopped all bi-weekly mortgage payments to the (Mortgage #00####-0) of ## XXXXXX Crescent, XXXX, Ontario, due to the lack of co-operation by the Bank of Nova Scotia, in the releasing of Pamela De Souza’s statement regarding the slanderous comment made to Pamela De Souza by Theresa Hamid of Enio Zeppieri & Associates LLP. Theresa Hamid is also named in aiding the mortgage frauds conducted by Enio Zeppieri.

We, RNC and RBC, are now forced into a serious situation where we need to firmly stand against all fraudulent professional misconducts and malpractices of Enio Zeppieri and his associates and others who aid in his and his associates fraudulent professional misconducts. This would include Scotiabank’s withholding of Pamela De Souza’s statement which aids the professional misconducts of Enio Zeppieri and his associates. We may be forced into taking further legal action against Scotiabank if Scotiabank does not co-operate. Scotiabank should be aware of C.I.B.C.’s investigations into the mortgage fraud and litigation fraud conducted against the C.I.B.C. and against us by Enio Zeppieri and his associates.

We politely demand the Bank of Nova Scotia to release Pamela De Souza’s statement immediately to prevent further actions towards Scotiabank. We need Pam De Souza’s statement on February 23rd 2010.

The statement should contain the exact quote said to us by Pamela De Souza several times during her self claimed disturbing telephone call from Theresa Hamid on June 10th 2009. Pamela De Souza quoted to us:

“You should check to see if the Clark’s have insurance on their mortgage in case they torch their house!”

Please call RNC or RBC with Scotiabank’s co-operation so we can re-instate mortgage payments.

Crooked Lawfirm - Enio Zeppieri & Associates LLP
commits Professional Misconducts & Illegal Acts

Enio Zeppieri of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Gregory Gryguc of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Pearl Rombis now with Intact Insurance
Avril Hasselfield now with I.A.I. & F.S.I.
Lora Olsthoorn now with Beasley Law Office
Theresa Hamid of Zeppieri & Associates LLP
Rose Serino of Zeppieri & Associates LLP

Crooked Lawyers from Ladner, Borden & Gervais LLP
Scotiabank manager & client's Identity Theft & Fraud!
Martin Sclisizzi of Borden, Ladner Gervais LLP
Martin Buhler now with Sugden, McFee & Roos LLP
Elissa Goodman of Borden, Ladner Gervais LLP

Crooked Lawyers from Chaitons LLP representing
Equifax Canada Inc. Cover-up of their Conspiracy!
Stephen Schwartz of Chaitons LLP
Karine DeChamplain now with Ackroyd Law LLP

Crooked Lawyers Helping Crooked Lawyers COMMIT or
ESCAPE from Criminal Acts & Professional Misconducts
Giacomo (Jack!) Rosati of Giacomo Rosati LLP
Ron Palleschi of Ron Palleschi LLP
Heidi Rubin of Dewart Gleason LLP

Sean DeWart now with Dewart Gleason LLP
Harry McMurtry of Affleck Greene McMurtry LLP

Crooked Members of Crooked Law Society of Upper
Canada (LSUC) that will not properly investigate!
Jessica Kowalski now with Landlord&Tenant Board
Caroline Feeley now with Royal LePage
Joanne MacMillan of Law Society of Upper Canada
David Cass of Law Society of Upper Canada
Sharon Seenath of Law Society of Upper Canada
Zeynep Onen of Law Society of Upper Canada
Hershel Gross of Law Society of Upper Canada
Malcolm Heins of Law Society of Upper Canada

Posted by I am a Victim of Identity Theft and Crooked Lawyers

This was NOT POSTED by Victim of Identity Theft & Crooked Lawyer

Whomever posted my webpage information here did this without my permisssion!
I was not even near a computer when this website said this post was posted!
I would not have signed it as Anonymous, I would use my name!

Thanks
Victim of Identity Theft and Crooked Lawyers

False Credit beaureau

I was the subject of false statements because made by Citi Financial on my credit report. I made a written request for any and all documention at the local branch for any financial matters I ever had with there company most importantly the documents for which they had claimed I was delinquent. after 30 days there was no documents for any thing not even a phone call . I hired a lawyer and he request the information about the problem . Their lawyer returned a letter to him stating there was no documents and my name or signature were not on any documents related to that matter. Lawyer informed their lawyer that we would be suing for damages which netted me a cheque for $7500.00 and an immediate correction of the credit report .

Financial Hardship

Hey,

I have been in boston about 2 1/2 years and when my grandfather passed away 2 years ago and he left me a GIC of ex. 25k, I have no income coming through cause I was in Boston taking care of my grandmother who lives by herself. And I finally come home to settle bank matters with scotia to get my money of 25k and they said to me " since you werent home to sign the papers to release your bonds from your grandfathers account the bank takes control of the money and now instead of getting my 25k which needs to be used to repair my house, broken sewer line, roof cause of major drafts, and 2k in bills including house tax, you will now get 3k next week, and another 3k next year and so on till 2015. Is there anything you can do we ask cause we really need the money and have no real income coming through, and they said, NOPE. So I talked to a family member about it and they mentioned FINANCIAL HARDSHIP, so we proceed with that and they told us they would look in to it, go figures. So they tell us a week later that they are trying to free up some of the money and get back to us and to give them My bills, my invoices for roof repairs and for the sewer which atg will cost near to 10k . So thinking that everything was going great that we gave them the invoices and all and we Actually tell them that the guy were coming over to do the repairs in about 2 days scotiabank says sounds good but NOT saying wait and hold off till everything approves?! Now they called us today and said we are able to free up some of the money but its only going to be about $6k they dont consider they said " the roof or house repairs" dont seem FINANCIAL HARDSHIP. So I was like that money was left for me and my grandfather said that the money was suppose to be for house repairs and if im lucky I will have alittle left over to get myself something. SOO they told me then sell my house! The house my grandfather built and left to me! It caught me off guard but I was not angry at them and mentions the importance of this situation, they said they will call back after she talks to the guy at the other end. So not recieving the call yet cause this is happened as im typing Is there ANYTHING or any Info I can use against them to free up my money and not be stranded dirt poor in a rundown house that need LOTS of TLC or Winter will be COLD and the sewer floods the basement. Help please!

John

Scotiabank messed up BIG TIME and have admitted fault

Since Sept 2010 I have been having problems with the Scotiabank, it started right after my car was totaled I was found NOT to be at fault by my auto insurance. The insurance company sent in check to pay off the loan, Scotiabank applied that money to the wrong account (car loan) after many,many phone calls they finally get it fixed. It took Scotiabank close to 2 months to credit the right account.

Fast forward to March 2011 I was going through my account and I noticed that my bi-weekly car loan had not been debited since Feb 4/11????? I called and asked WTF is going on?? I was told that my bi-weekly payments went from automatic to manual payments and someone "forgot to debit our account for bi-weekly payments"

A manger finally called me back about 4-5 days said "we are so sorry about this but now we need 3 payments today!!" Aww Hell No!! I agreed to 1 payment right away and the manger said "the next payment will be in 2 weeks"

Less then 2 days go by and I get an automated call "you are behind in your car payments" WTF!!
I called up and spoke with a CSR who gave me a hard time when I asked to speak with her super, when he came on the line I stated " I will not put up with harassing phones calls if this keeps up I will take it to the media or the president of Scotiabank" The super got all pissy and said "you are making threats" No threats I'm well within my rights do do as I stated, then he hung up on me.

2-3 phones calls later I get super in "car loans" and spoke with her for about 15 mins. She apologized for the other supervisors behavior and said she would call me back with a day or so"
Instead I get a letter of apology from Scotiabank admitting fault on their end about the car loan funds not being debited and that Scotiabank would not report me to the credit bureau since it was their fault (how f***in kind of them)

About 2 -3 weeks ago I was getting phone calls from Scotiabank and it turns out that Sotiabank never received my payment!!!! It was a manual payment(pre-authorized) taken from BMO to Scotiabank, I printed out my proof of payment and faxed over.

Another phone on Monday the same CSR I have been dealing with Scotiabank wanted a payment I OK'ed it and it went through by the end of the day. I have been told by the CSR that Scotiabank will work with me and he would call me in about 2 weeks to see if it was OK to take a payment then.

Today we are Thursday same CSR called and he demanded a another payment TODAY!!! I said NO I do not have the funds for another 2 weeks.
CSR stated "We need to get the payments update TODAY so you can go back to bi-weekly payments, if not your payments will go to monthly payments" Scotiabank is refusing to work with me inspite of being told Scotiabank would.

So it boils down to this. I'm a good faithful client with a car loan. Never missed a payment, or NSF on my part. Scotiabank screws up BIG TIME by not debiting my account, I contact the bank who is unaware of this. Scotiabank "we are so sorry now give us our damn money!!" A letter stating fault on Scotiabank part and how Scotiabank will work with me to resolve this issue.

I have acted in good faith.
1) I contacted Scotiabank when I saw the bi-weekly payments not going through.
2) I have complied and have made 2 good faith payments to Scotiabank
3) Scotiabank "never recieved my pre-authorized payment" I provided proof of payment to Scotiabank.
4) I have spent hours on the phone trying to get in contact with the correct supervisors and have explained my story over and over again.
5) I have been very nice and polite up till now.
6) Scotiabank doesn't care about me as a client, otherwise Scotiabank would work with me to resolve this issue.

Removing 2nd person from account

Last year I added my mother to my account, because I went away to work and incase something happened to me, and since she has a checking account with them, they linked our accounts, mine being the savings and her's the checking. I'm no longer working away, so I don't need her on there anymore. I want her name taken off, mostly because she went to get a money order and they took the money out of my account and when she goes in to check her own bank account, they always tell her my account info instead of hers, and I'm getting sick of this because it's none of her business. Will I need to have my mother with me when I close this account? I was told it'd be the only way to take her name off of it.

were do you have to go for

were do you have to go for business hours

Scotialine Visa stoping us from getting consolidation

My husband went to Scotia bank in 2005 or 2006 went to get a consolidation loan, and came home with ScotiaLine VISA. convenient yes but bad news. it has been forever to pay off and eventually after a dispute was cancelled. Now as we try to pay off the balance, they keep lowerig the limit everytime we made a payment. Even when we make payments on time they continue to give Equifax wrong information thus making it nearly impossible to get a proper consolidation loan.

we are now doing what ever we can to correct this problem but it is very very frustrating. I will not trust any bank ever again. Credit unions only. small ones.

Re: BNS

I have dealt with Scotia Bank for several years. In the past 2 years I have been receiving phone calls from Scotia Life Insurance asking me to sign up with them for a low monthly fee. I asked them how they got my phone number and they said they couldn't disclose that information. If Scotia Bank released my personal information to them, isn't this against the privacy act?

Also, I have $1000.00 cash back on my card. If I go to the teller and deposit my checks, I recieve a 5 day hold on everything over $1000.00 and if I go to the atm, I recieve a 6 day hold. To my understanding, it only takes 15 to 20 minutes to clear a check. Is this Scotia's way of making tons of interest off their customers?

Just tell Scotia Life to f#$%

Just tell Scotia Life to f#$% off and stop calling you. Problem solved.

Cheques take more than that to cash, as it must go to the issuing bank for verification, then they release the funds to Scotia bank who then releases them to you.
Even if the person that wrote the cheque uses Scotia, it's still their home branch that needs to go through that process.
Having said all this, I believe they now scan all cheques and send them electronically for clearing, so even 5 or 6 days is ridiculous, they're just trying to keep their options open in case it turns out the cheque isn't good for some reason and they don't do anything about it right away.

old mortgage left on credit history, Scotiabank won't remove it

I discovered recently why I could not get a small loan by opening an Equifax account. I saw that Scotiabank had not informed Equifax of the closing of a very old and large morgage, joint at the time with my ex husband. This is draining my credit score and I get only snappy and arrogant answers every time I inquire on when this is going to be removed. Can't find a solution nor any contact at higher hierarchy level to solve this, what can I do?

Credit History

It looks like by law the credit history companies must investigate allegations of inaccuracies.
Here's the info on the Equifax website:
Equifax Dispute Resolution Page
The Transunion website is a bit of a better resource in terms of what you need to send:
Transunion's Dispute Resolution by Mail page

I'd recommend sending everything by registered mail, signature required. That way you have a trail of what you sent and when, plus it gives them on the other end the appearance that you're keep track of every move they make, so they better tread carefully.
Dealing with them on the phone is likely a waste of time.

Make sure you regularly pull both credit reports from the major Canadian credit rating bureaus.

Scotia closed down all accounts - will not disclose why

Hi All,

My family received a notice yesterday claiming that 'effective immediately, the Bank of Nova Scotia has decided to terminate our banking relationship with you'. My family has been with BNS for over 30 years and is clearly a high valued client. We contacted the branch manager and she would not disclose why they have terminated all accounts. We do not have the slightest incling as to why this is happening and no-one is telling us anything.

Has anyone had this experience? I have already printed out the #'s for the Office of the President & Ombudsman, but if anyone could provide some advice on how to go about this, it would be greatly appreciated.

Bank of Nova Scotia Closing Accounts

That's very odd. Basically, go up the chain: Contact the Office of the President and await their reply. Then the ombudsman for that bank if the Office of the President fails, and then the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments if the bank's ombudsman fails to satisfiably respond. Yes, satisfiably isn't a word, but it makes sense!

Bad Communication

I had a mortage that needed to be ported to a new house we were buying. I emailed my Scotia rep in Jan 2010 to ask for direction and was told via email that I could pay it out in June when the new house deal came together with $1300.00 penalty and a nwe low rate held for 120 days. In a follow-up email in Feb 2010 The numbers were repeated but the payout was estimated at $1280.13.

I followed the directions from my banker, made two max yearly payments in the last 4 months to reduce the principle and now when the final numbers were ordered from my lawyer, the penalty is $12,500.00. The branch manager is admitting a mistake was made but says too bad for me and that the @12,500.00 includes a big discount already.

I lost my ability to shop around for a better deal when Scotia offered the estimated pay-out and now in the 11th hour when rates are much higher than 4 months ago I am forced to stay with my held scotia rate.

Can they really tell you mulitple times in multiple emails something to keep your business and then later just say "oops, our bad" and not be accountable?

I have had dealings with

I have had dealings with ScotiaBank going back to about 1990. I thought I ended it in 2005.

Yet they put things against my Credit Rating. I objected and showed their fault. ScotiaBank President personally appoligized and said everything would get fixed. BULL !!!!!

Now it is JUNE 2010, and they still have entries against my credit ratings and again I have started the process against them.

My RRSP investments with ScotiaBank were supposably " Safe " but I lost most of the investment money. I suppose their employees did well with my money in their pockets.

I had a mortgage on my house with them. I wanted to buy another property and increase the mortgage against my house to pay for it. NO, they say better to get loan and
if any problems making payments I could AUTOMATICALLY increase the mortgage to pay the loan, no questions nor any responsiblities on my end.

I found it tough making ends meet. They refused to increase the mortgage unless I jumped through their hoops and time. The mortgage couldn't get paid, their lawyers proceeeded against me.

A judgment comes against me from head office because " Head office does what they do WITHOUT any communication to the branch ".

Then trying to pay the mortgage, the loan is " overdue " and Head Office starts proceedings against me on that.

I sold the house to pay them off. The lawyer involved for me stated that he had NEVER seen such stupidity and incompetence as with ScotiaBank.
And those statements were AFTER I sold the house. They couldn't tell him how much was owned or on what, they couldn't account for their numbers and stalled the sale for several months
trying to get their act together. Finally I was done with ScotiBank or so I thought.

About a year later, I get a check from ScotiaBank explaining they had made an error and I had overpaid them.

I go to buy a house after that. Get turned down for a mortgage. Told I still owe ScotiaBank for BOTH the Mortgage and the Loan, which had both been paid out years before.

Complain to ScotiaBank again. The " Oh we are so sorry BS ", we will fix immediately. There will be no entries of ANY type from us against you anywhere. IT HAS BEEN TOTALLY OUR FAULT.

Now, this month, June 2010, I get turned down for a mortgage because ScotiaBank still has entries against me.

There is NO accountability to ANYONE nor the CREDIT BUREAUS themselves for what they do to you. The data is WRONG, they can destroy you BUT they are not ACCOUNTABLE.

It should be automatic costs against the ScotiaBank and the Credit Bureaus for bad data. We should not have to pay to look at our own credit information.

I am totally pissed. I also believe every taxpayer dollar is abused one way or another. I work in a government position and cannot talk about it but do know some things taxpayers should not have done to them.

ScotiaBank - Should be out of business

I have had dealings with ScotiaBank going back to about 1990. I thought I ended it in 2005.

Yet they put things against my Credit Rating. I objected and showed their fault. ScotiaBank President personally appoligized and said everything would get fixed. BULL !!!!!

Now it is JUNE 2010, and they still have entries against my credit ratings and again I have started the process against them.

My RRSP investments with ScotiaBank were supposably " Safe " but I lost most of the investment money. I suppose their employees did well with my money in their pockets.

I had a mortgage on my house with them. I wanted to buy another property and increase the mortgage against my house to pay for it. NO, they say better to get loan and
if any problems making payments I could AUTOMATICALLY increase the mortgage to pay the loan, no questions nor any responsiblities on my end.

I found it tough making ends meet. They refused to increase the mortgage unless I jumped through their hoops and time. The mortgage couldn't get paid, their lawyers proceeeded against me.

A judgment comes against me from head office because " Head office does what they do WITHOUT any communication to the branch ".

Then trying to pay the mortgage, the loan is " overdue " and Head Office starts proceedings against me on that.

I sold the house to pay them off. The lawyer involved for me stated that he had NEVER seen such stupidity and incompetence as with ScotiaBank.
And those statements were AFTER I sold the house. They couldn't tell him how much was owned or on what, they couldn't account for their numbers and stalled the sale for several months
trying to get their act together. Finally I was done with ScotiBank or so I thought.

About a year later, I get a check from ScotiaBank explaining they had made an error and I had overpaid them.

I go to buy a house after that. Get turned down for a mortgage. Told I still owe ScotiaBank for BOTH the Mortgage and the Loan, which had both been paid out years before.

Complain to ScotiaBank again. The " Oh we are so sorry BS ", we will fix immediately. There will be no entries of ANY type from us against you anywhere. IT HAS BEEN TOTALLY OUR FAULT.

Now, this month, June 2010, I get turned down for a mortgage because ScotiaBank still has entries against me.

There is NO accountability to ANYONE nor the CREDIT BUREAUS themselves for what they do to you. The data is WRONG, they can destroy you BUT they are not ACCOUNTABLE.

It should be automatic costs against the ScotiaBank and the Credit Bureaus for bad data. We should not have to pay to look at our own credit information.

I am totally pissed. I also believe every taxpayer dollar is abused one way or another. I work in a government position and cannot talk about it but do know some things taxpayers should not have done to them.

scotiabank experience

Dan, I am so glad you posted your experience with Scotiabank. All the detail you provided in respect to having your issue resolved is exactly what i needed to hear.
In my case, my issues date back to 09/2007 with the last issue 01/2010, and let me tell you, i am so caught up w/ all of there unwarranted actions that literally I have let it ruin me.
Pls Dan, if at all possible, pls email me back. Your opinion or any suggestions you could provide me with would be greatly appreciated.
Thks again for posting this info, Sharelle

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <p> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options